Ra’s Weight-Loss Journey – Week 9

This week we have a few specifics to cover regarding our paths to a healthier lifestyle.

Firstly, I have to mention that eating on a regular basis good food, 3 meals a day with 3 snacks was a struggle at first with my transient lifestyle. It has become easier over the last few weeks to get used to and implement these changes in my life. As my previous blogs have noted, it was all about planning and sticking to the plan.

I’ve noticed that my sleep patterns have been more consistent and I have been able to settle more. I guess eating just before bed wasn’t conducive to sleep.

I’ve not really exercised intensely for the duration, and most of the exercise has been informal walking and playing with the kids. At work I have tried to maintain a constant regime at least 3 times a week. Over this week I have increased the amount of time spent exercising. My body recovers quicker and I don’t ache after exercise. Obviously there is the pain of exercise, the pain that you know you’ve worked out, but this doesn’t linger like it used to. I have implemented some simple rehab, stretches and exercises for niggling injuries past, and I feel that these are working. I haven’t strained my Hamstring or felt pain in my arm for a while now. I notice that when I feel the niggle start, I back off a little in the exercise and try to stretch it out more.

Weight loss has been an issue. How many people out there have worked out and dieted for months and feel like they are in limbo? That’s how I feel at the moment. I’ve managed to loose a little bit of weight, but the lessons I’m learning outweigh those right now. It is disheartening to not lose it all in one go, but this was never going to be a quick fix. I recently saw on a weight loss add on the tv where the celebrity endoresee had lost 5kg, and in fine print it read that she had taken 12 weeks to do so. Personally I need to keep telling myself that I need to keep at it, continue with a positive attitude toward the information Megan is passing me and believe that it will happen.

I’m feeling much better about me and my future. I still need to keep exercising, which can be hard in the hot humid environment, but not impossible. When I get home I have the challenges of a busy household and kids that don’t want to eat everything I do. I’m going to plod along and persist with my plans to eat well in front of them, provide them with healthy alternatives and ultimately hide good food inside their food.

I’m grateful to have this opportunity to learn and share my experiences.

Good luck this week

Leave a Reply

